Search Results
Search this site
2513 results found with an empty search
- Finanzamt Charlottenburg
30th May 1939 30th May 1939 1/2 Contact Brief History to inform us of additional information regarding this page
- June 1946
1st June 1946 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th 11th 12th 13th 14th 15th 16th 17th 18th 19th 20th 21st 22nd 23rd 24th 25th 26th 27th 28th 29th 30th 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th 11th 12th 13th 14th 15th 16th 17th 18th 19th 20th 21st 22nd 23rd 24th 25th 26th 27th 28th 29th 30th
- HAPAG Deutschland Steinway
Postcard of the 'Deutschland' sent to Theodore Steinway in New York. Ref: 06.04.1936 - 24/77 6th April 1936 S.S. 'Deutschland' 1/1 Postcard of the 'Deutschland' sent to Theodore Steinway in New York. Ref: 06.04.1936 - 24/77 The postcard reads, 'Dear Theodore, I appreciated the Steinways family's coming to the steamer more than I can tell you. It was very kind of you all. I have had a pleasant trip although the weather has not been the best. Great many Germans on board, mostly business men. But she's a grand boat. Best to everyone at Steinway Hall - hope the business keeps up - Fritz.' Sent to Theodore Steinway at 109 West 57nd Street, New York, N.Y., the home of Steinway Hall (1925-2014). Click the map icon for location of Steinway Hall during this period. The correspondent 'Fritz' possibly being Fritz Kreisler (1875-1962) Austrian Composer. Cautionary note: Not a German '7' in address line. S.S. Deutschland Also see 18/7 - the New York Contact Brief History to inform us of additional information regarding this page
- Mi.701
Mi.701 (25.08.1939) Nuremberg Rally (inscription) Mi.701 (25.08.1939) Nuremberg Rally (inscription) 1/0 Cover featuring Mi.701 (as per Mi.694 but with added inscription 'REICHS-PARTEITAG/ 1939'). Also featuring Mi.714 and 715. Cancellations JB:Berlin315/123. Ref: 06.10.1939 - 29/90 Mi.701 Intended Nazi Rally in Nuremberg (as Mi.694) but with further inscription 'REICHS-/ PARTEITAG/ 1939'. Notes: Design: ? - after a photograph by Heinrich Hoffmann. Photogravure printing. Sheets 10 x 5. Swastika watermark. Perf. 14¼:13½. Quantity issued: unknown. Valid until 31.12.1940 Mi.701 (6+19 Pf - Adolf Hitler addressing the Reichstag 30th January 1939. The 'German Day' speech. Ref: 06.10.1939 - 29/30) Contact Brief History to inform us of additional information regarding this page
- Barlog 1471
3rd April 1939 Barlog 1471 3rd April 1939 Barlog 1471 1/1 Barlog cartoon postcard depicting a woman patiently waiting besides a clock whilst soldiers wave her goodbye from the train. Bestell-Nr.1471 (bold text). Ref:03.04.1939 The caption reads: Translation required VARIATION Same Bestell-Nr. Same text. However, without outer grey shaded border. Together with revised text style to the imprint. Ref: 21.11.1939 - 30/2 Contact Brief History to inform us of additional information regrding this page
- censor obliteration
18th September 1939 18th September 1939 1/1 Feldpost from FPN21745 (8. Kompanie Schutzen-Regiment 2) with obliterated place names on title and imprint. Photograph by Štefan Križo. Ref: 18.09.1939 21/13 Contact Brief History to inform us of additional information regarding this page
- Volksbund Deutsche kriegsgraberfursorge
11th February 1939 Deutsche Kriegsgräberfürsorge 11th February 1939 Deutsche Kriegsgräberfürsorge 1/1 Cover sent from the 'Volksbund Deutsche kriegsgräberfürsorge e.V.' to Wilhelm Meyer zu Eissen in Bad Salzuflen at the Villa Kurpark. Ref: 11.02.1939 - 18/13 VILLA KURPARK - With its thermal and brine springs, the town developed into a Lippe state spa from 1818 onwards and was given the additional name 'Bad' in 1914. This naturally had an impact on the development of the town and led to a whole series of new buildings in the style of the time. Between 1855 and 1906, a number of classicist bathing and treatment houses were built in the area of the rose garden, such as the Bathhouse I (1855–1856), the Leopold Bath (1903) and the Inhalatorium (1903), which are still well preserved today, although some of them have a different function. In the Parkstrasse area, the Kurpark, the Kurhaus (1900) built according to plans by Fritz Seiff, with the Kurtheater (1908) and a large number of guest houses and villas were built in Bismarckstrasse and Parkstrasse. The most important of these buildings is certainly the Villa Dürkopp , built in the neo-baroque style in a prominent location between 1914 and 1917 as the retirement home of the Bielefeld manufacturer Nikolaus Dürkopp. Also worth mentioning are the houses at Parkstrasse 4 (Haus Erdbrügger), Parkstrasse 13 (Villa Kurpark), Parkstrasse 15 (Villa Luise), Parkstrasse 39 (Haus Seeblick) and the Hotel "Fürstenhof" (built in 1908, park sanatorium since 1959). Other guest houses and Art Nouveau villas can be found in Waldstrasse, Wenkenstrasse and Moltkestrasse. Particularly worth seeing here is a group of four picturesque Art Nouveau villas at Waldstrasse 1 and 3 and directly opposite at 18 and 20. Many buildings from 1909 onwards were designed by the well-known Salzuflen architect Rudolf Günther (1880–1941), such as Haus Hansa, Parkstrasse 36–38, the house Wenkenstrasse 1–5, Am Herforder Tor 9 and Haus Bender, a corner building in a prominent location (corner of Bleichstrasse/Parkstrasse), one of the most important buildings of spa architecture of the early 20th century in Westphalia that has survived to this day. Note that a Dr. Wilhelm Meier zu Eissen passed away on 10th July 1936 in Bad Salzuflen. A mis-spelling of Meier/Meyer by the Volksbund and sent long after his death? Volksbund Deutsche kriegsgräberfürsorge e.V. The German War Graves Commission (Volksbund Deutsche Kriegsgräberfürsorge e. V.), also known as the Volksbund for short, was founded on 16th December 1919 and is a registered non-profit organisation with a humanitarian mission. It maintains and looks after the graves of victims of war and tyranny (war cemeteries) abroad, helps relatives to search for graves and develops the war cemeteries into places of learning about history. The graves of victims of war and tyranny within the country are financed and maintained in accordance with the provisions of the Graves Act. Right at the beginning of the Nazi Party 's seizure of power, the association attempted to lobby the Reich government to ensure legal protection of the Day of Remembrance. This aroused great interest. Eulen reported after a conversation with Adolf Hitler that he had 'shown warm interest in the work of the war graves commission'. Eulen also campaigned for more government support for the Day of Remembrance. He continued: 'I have also promoted our Reminiscere National Day of Mourning and prepared the Chancellor for our request to announce the legal recognition of this day in a solemn act at the beginning of our meeting.' – Sigfried Emmo Eulen In 1933, the Volksbund adopted a new statute that included not only the victims of the World War, but also the so-called martyrs of National Socialism and the victims of the post-war struggles in its own work. Thus, the Volksbund placed itself entirely at the service of honouring National Socialist heroes. As part of the Gleichschaltung, Emmo Eulen became the federal leader in accordance with the Führer principle. Through direct intervention with Goebbels, he succeeded in changing the National Mourning Day into Heroes' Remembrance Day in 1934. The Volksbund remained in existence. The mentality changed from standing up for peace to a spirit of sacrifice. Jewish members were pushed out. The Volksbund was only responsible for the fallen of the First World War. The Wehrmacht Information Office and the Wehrmacht Graves Service under the High Command of the Wehrmacht were responsible for the war dead of the Second World War. During the Nazi era, the number of members rose sharply: at the end of 1934, there were 151,110 members in 1,830 local groups, in 1936 there were 4,747 local groups with 295,000 members, and in 1943 there were 993,572 members. During the 1930s, the Volksbund profited from numerous major projects and built so-called death castles, for example on the St. Annaberg in Upper Silesia and for the approximately 4,000 German soldiers who fell in the Battles of the Piave in Quero, northern Italy. The Reich office was destroyed in an air raid on Berlin on 15th February 1944, the Volksbund was dissolved in 1945 and its re-establishment in the GDR was prohibited. In 1946, a provisional office was set up in Oldenburg, where Wilhelm Ahlhorn worked to rebuild the organisation. At the request of the Bavarian State Ministry of the Interior, the Volksbund was authorised in the US-American occupied zone on 4th September 1947, and the office was moved to Nienburg on the Weser in May 1948. An additional agreement to the Geneva Convention now guaranteed the permanent right of rest for the war dead. In May 1951, the headquarters were moved from Nienburg to Kassel. In the western occupied zones, the association was tasked with registering and maintaining war graves in Germany. In 1952, the 'Law on the Care of War Graves' was passed by the Bundestag. Since then, the Volksbund has been responsible for war graves abroad, and the federal states for war graves in Germany. Initially, activities were only possible in the western states. The Graves Act of 1965 provides in Section 1 Paragraph 2 No. 4 that graves of fallen soldiers of both world wars, victims of National Socialist violence and civilian bombing victims are now to be cared for. In 1956, there were almost 600,000 members. In 1958, the reburial service had 117 German and 150 foreign employees. From 1966, the Volksbund also looked after the war graves of the First World War and the Franco-Prussian War of 1870 to 1871. In 2019, the total of 82,030 paying members were distributed among 81,046 in Germany and 884 abroad. There were a total of 208,103 paying donors in 2019. The number of members leaving/deaths exceeds the number of new members joining. On average, the association loses 9,000 members per year; since the mid-2000s, the number of members has fallen by around 40%. The average age of members is over 70 years. Source: Wikipedia Contact Brief History to inform us of additional information regarding this page
- Reichsdruckerei
Envelope used to send 20 sheets of the Block 4 miniature sheet ('The Brown Ribbon of Germany' - Mi.621). Featuring the green hand-stamp of the 'Reichsdruckerei' 10th August 1936 Reichsdruckerei 1/1 Envelope used to send 20 sheets of the Block 4 miniature sheet ('The Brown Ribbon of Germany' - Mi.621). Featuring the green hand-stamp of the 'Reichsdruckerei' The 'Reichsdruckerei' From Wikipedia: The Reichs Printing Office in Berlin was under the management of the State Secretary of the Reich Post Office. It was created on 1st April, 1879 through the merger of the Royal Prussian State Printing Office, founded in 1852, with Decker's Royal Secret Oberhof Buchdruckerei. The official founding day of the Reichsdruckerei was 6th July, 1879. The location used was the property of the former Prussian state printing press on Oranienstrasse, which was expanded between 1879 and 1881 according to plans by the architect Carl Busse, who was also the first director of the Reichsdruckerei. It was generally only intended for the direct purposes of the German Empire and the federal states, but also worked for local authorities, corporations and, in certain cases, for private individuals. Their main activity was the production of Reich treasury notes, Reich banknotes, bonds, postage stamps, exchange stamps and other stamps and monetary papers. It also printed ordinance sheets and official works (including the Reichskursbuch and patent documents). At the head of the Reich Printing Office was a director. Two company inspectors managed the technical operation. As a successor institution after 1949, the tasks of the Reichsdruckerei were essentially taken over by the State Printing Office of the Federal Republic of Germany, from which the Federal Printing Office emerged in 1951. Contact Brief History to inform us of additional information regarding this page
- Arthur Sauer
20th March 1947 Arthur Sauer 20th March 1947 Arthur Sauer 1/1 Commercial correspondence between Willi Knippert jun. Arzneimittelgrosshandlung (Pharmaceutical wholesaler) to Deutsche Milchwerke Dr. A. Sauer (the name of the company included the owners name. Sauer had passed away in his early 70's only four months previous to this correspondence). Ref: 20.03.1947 - 17/33 Commercial correspondence concerning the supply of raw materials. Arthur Sauer Arthur Sauer (1874 - 1946) was a German chemist, entrepreneur and patron of the arts. Arthur Sauer was born in April 1874 as the son of Kaspar Sauer, a member of the Schönborn chancellery and domain council, in Wiesentheid in Lower Franconia. He studied chemistry in nearby Würzburg from the winter semester of 1893/94 and received his doctorate in 1897 from the Faculty of Philosophy at the University of Würzburg. Before that, he was an assistant to Wilhelm Conrad Röntgen for some time. The title of his dissertation was 'On isonitramines and their splitting into hyponitrous acid'. Sauer, however, was drawn to chemical practice, so that in 1897 he moved to relatives in Bensheim on the Bergstrasse. In that year he also joined the company of the Worms pharmacist Rudolf Pizzala, which he took over just one year later. The money for this was provided to him by Wilhelm Euler, a paper manufacturer and politician from Bensheim. In the same year he married Anna Maria Feigel (d. 1945), a daughter of a wine merchant family from Bensheim. Before the First World War, Sauer ran for Friedrich Naumann's party in Bensheim and hoped to win a seat in the Reichstag. In the 1912 elections, however, he lost to the SPD candidate. Due to his age, he was spared from being called up for World War I. A further attempt to get into the Reichstag in 1920 failed, after which he scaled back his political involvement and concentrated on his travels, his literary work and his company. In his literary and philosophical publications during the First World War, various echoes of Rudolf Steiner's anthroposophy can be recognised. After the First World War, the economic development of his company was not initially favourable. For a short time, he even considered separating from it completely. However, the mid-1920s saw an upturn when production was switched to medicines and cosmetics under the brand name Fissan. Arthur Sauer initially changed the name of the company to Deutsche Milchwerke Dr. A. Sauer and became successful with the products of the Fissan brand. From 1924 onwards, the company therefore took the name Fissan-Werke . In 1882, the Worms pharmacist Rudolf Pizzala began producing organic tonics, initially on a small scale with around six employees. In 1897, the chemist Arthur Sauer joined the company and took over the business in 1898. He specialised in milk preparations based on the chemical substance casein and named his company Deutsche Milchwerke Dr. A. Sauer . Expansion was achieved, among other things, by setting up branch plants - for example in Stockheim (Upper Hesse). In the 1920s and early 1930s, Sauer made numerous trips to Egypt, North Africa, Italy, Spain, Portugal and South America. There he collected lasting artistic impressions that would influence his further structural and artistic developments in his company in Zwingenberg. In 1927 he met Georg Fehleisen, a young architect who shared his love for modern architecture in the Bauhaus style as well as anthroposophical attitudes. From 1928 onwards, Fehleisen became the in-house architect for Arthur Sauer and his Fissan works. In 1933/1934, Georg Fehleisen (1893–1936) built a small factory housing estate for workers and employees of Deutsche Milchwerke AG . The estate consists of seven individual houses. Four houses with a square floor plan are arranged symmetrically. Above is the villa of the works manager and at the same height, a little further north, is the smaller villa of the deputy works manager. The seventh building, a workers' house with a steep gable roof, is located to the northwest. During the Nazi era, the complex was named 'Adolf Hitler Settlement' with the highest approval from Christmas 1933. Today, the houses are located on the Arthur Sauer site, named after the entrepreneur. The settlement is also a listed building. Georg Fehleisen officially died on 30th November 1936 as a result of a car accident. Suspicions that this was a suicide could never be completely dispelled. On 1st May 1937, the factory was named a National Socialist model company - and this continued until 1939, with the participating companies having to face the competition again and again. The 'golden flag' of the German Labor Front flew on the Fissan buildings. After the occupation of Zwingenberg by American troops on 27th March 1945, the Fissan factory facilities and parts of the factory settlement as well as the Sauer villa were confiscated. The outsourced production was able to resume on 30th April 1945. After expropriation and denunciation proceedings, Arthur Sauer died on 29th November 1946 under unclear circumstances. Source: Wikipedia Contact Brief History to inform us of additional information regarding this page
- Bochmann Konigsberg Preussen
Cover sent from Königsberg (Pr) to an address in Coburg. Featuring JB:Königsberg (Preußen)18/440. Ref: 30.04.1936 - 15/87 30th April 1936 JB: Königsberg (Preußen) 30.04.1936 JB_Konigsberg 18_440 reverse.jpeg 30.04.1936 JB_Konigsberg 18_440 reverse.jpeg 1/1 Cover sent from Königsberg (Pr) to an address in Coburg. Featuring JB:Königsberg (Preußen)18/440. Ref: 30.04.1936 - 15/87 KÖNIGSBERG (PR) cancellations as featured in the Bochmann catalogues (1952) JB:Königsberg (Preußen)18/440 - ' "Leistung adelt!/ Reichskampf/ im Reichsberufswettkampf/ Königsberg (Pr) 23.-30.4.36" '. Ref: 30.04.1936 - 15/87 JB:Königsberg (Preußen)24/441 - '10 Jahre Gau Ostprueßen/ 6.36'. Ref: 19.06.1938 - 17/4 See 17.06.1938 - 24/47 for eagles head variation of 24/441 Generic JB:334/835 - see 29/73 Contact Brief History to inform us of additional information regarding this page
- Frei Durch Ablosung Reich Bocholt
5th October 1939 5th October 1939 05.10.1939 Bocholt Stadtwald reverse.jpeg 05.10.1939 Bocholt Stadtwald reverse.jpeg 1/1 Postcard sent via the feldpost (no FPN number) with the photograph of the Bocholt Stadtwald. Featuring a hand-stamp to the address panel stating 'Frei Durch Ablösung Reich!'. Ref: 05.10.1939 Detail of the propaganda slogan above the entrance which states, 'Man Bettelt nicht fur ein recht fur ein recht kampft man', a quote by Adolf Hitler that translates to, 'You don't beg for a right, you fight for a right'. Contact Brief History to inform us of additonal information regrding this page
- Kraftfahrzeugschein Opel
6th June 1936 1/2 Contact Brief History to inform us of additional information regarding this page










